Miss Cherielle

An amateur's mix of fashion, makeup and … cosplay

Clio Gelpresso Waterproof Pencil Gel Liner

Leave a comment

I have always been a little apprehensive about putting on eyeliner, especially dark/black ones. Firstly because I am not all that good at putting eyeliner on so I am scared that the darker the eyeliner is the easier it is to see my badly drawn eyeliner.

So normally…I have one and only one eyeliner that I wouldy use – the Clinique Cream Shaper for Eyes in 104 Brown Sugar. It is easy to use and the colour is a medium brown. It stays on reasonably well and I don’t think there is any fallouts. It works, so I stick with it. But then I get bored! I want to try other colours and there are times when I want a darker eyeliner!

But that brings me to the second reason why I am apprehensive about using eyeliners: I have tried to use some black pencil eyeliners but they all seems to fallout all over my face in black little specks within the hour! I have used the black one from the same Clinique range, a Lancome one, Jill Stuart and RMK and they ALL fall all over my face!

And so my search for a good eyeliner began! I started looking online to see what people are using and this eventually led me to what is known as the “Lee Hyori eyeliners” – the Clio eyeliners! For those who don’t know, Lee Hyori is a famous South Korean singer. To be honestly I don’t really like her because she comes across as somewhat bitchy but hey she does have some damn pretty eyes! She was the image model for Clio (a South Korean makeup brand) and so the eyeliners were dubbed “Lee Hyori eyeliners”

Clio has a number of different eyeliners ranging from pencil to liquid. As I prefer pencil type (because they are easier to control the liquid ones), I bought 5 of the Gelpresso Waterproof Pencil Gel Liners. I also got a Brush Eyeliner and a Pen Eyeliner (both liquid types) to try and will be reviewed later.

Clio Gelpresso Waterproof Gel Liners

Clio Gelpresso Waterproof Gel Liners

You can see from the photo that there are two different packaging for the Gelpresso. When I received the Gelpressos I was a bit surprised. I was like.. omg.. isn’t it meant to be Lee Hyori??? How come only 2 of them were her and the other ones aren’t??? It turns out she is no longer the model for Clio and the current model is now Sandara Park from 2NE1. So if you get your Gelpresso and it’s not Lee Hyori on the cover that is totally fine and in fact it means it’s newer stock.

The 5 colours I got are:
1. #1 Beige Shine
2. #3 Golden Khaki
3. #4 Dark Choco
4. #5 Star Purple
5. #8 Chic Navy

Here is a swatch of them:

Clio Gelpresso Waterproof Gel Liners

Clio Gelpresso Waterproof Gel Liners. From left to right: #1 Beige Shine, #3 Golden Khaki, #4 Dark Choco, #5 Star Purple, #8 Chic Navy

The colour goes on quite well and is quite pigmented. For the above swatch I only needed to do two swipes to get that colour payoff. I don’t know why it is called a gel liner because it is really more like a pencil liner. When I think of gel liners I think of the Bobbi Brown and Mac gel liners in the tub.  The liners have shimmers in them but they are not over-the-top in your face kind of shimmer so it is quite wearable. I think #1 would make a really good colour for lining under the eye. I can’t wait to use them!

Oh yes!! Very important note! Do NOT sharpen these liners with your normal eyeliner sharpener! It will wreck it!!! Each of the liners comes with its own sharpener at the end of the liner. Just pull that off and use that!

Where to get Gelpresso

Unfortunately they are not sold in Australia and you will have to order them online. I get them from a Korean site called Gmarket. It is like eBay except I find it a bit harder to us because the sellers on Gmarket tends to list more than one item for sale in each listing and you have to select from a dropdown list what you want to buy in that listing. You can type in “Clio liner” in the search tool and you should be able to find the products. However while the website can be viewed in English, the options in the dropdown list are in Korean and often the item descriptions are in Korean too. I can’t really read Korean so what I do is match the symbol up with what I want to get hahaha…

Here is a short list of Korean words which might come in handy if you are looking to buy Clio eyeliners on Gmarket:

클리오 Clio
펜라이너 Pen Liner
브러쉬라이너 Brush Liner
젤프레소 Gelpresso
턴라이너 Turnliner

Please let me know if I got any of the Korean words wrong haha as I said I can’t really read it but it’s just what I figured they mean in the progress of ordering the products myself.

EDIT: Ok so I just tried using the purple one yesterday and little specks started to fallout after an hour! I pressed lightly with a tissue and tiny specks of the eyeliner came off onto the tissue! I feel like the eyeliner ‘dries’ into dust. I think it may be the shimmery sparkly bits?? A bit disappointed because does fall over the face and into my eyes. But at least it’s not like the Clinique black one I got which falls off in bigger chunks …

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.